ANZRP wins coveted award for collective product stewardship

ANZRP wins coveted award for collective product stewardship

Australia New Zealand Recycling Platform (ANZRP) is honoured to announce that it received the Best Stewardship Outcomes from a Collective Scheme award at the 2023 Product Stewardship Excellence Awards, hosted by the Product Stewardship Centre of Excellence in Sydney last night (November 2).

ANZRP is proud to be recognised for our long-running commitment to product stewardship. The award highlights that industries can work together to sustainably manage electronic waste.

The award is a testament to the loyalty of our members and the dedication of our team to deliver the best e-stewardship possible. The award cements ANZRP’s status as a leading e-stewardship provider.

As Australia’s only not-for-profit co-regulator, ANZRP is committed to reducing the environmental impacts of products and waste by collecting the waste of its members.

Since inception, ANZRP has collected and facilitated the recycling of over 240,000t tonnes of electronic waste (e-waste) – that’s the equivalent weight of 428 Airbus A380s.

We hope that this award inspires brands, organisations and government to keep moving forward to improve e-stewardship in Australia.

Brand agency vital to ensure best e-stewardship outcomes

In July 2023, the Department of Climate Change, Energy and the Environment and Water (DCCEEW) proposed an increase in the number of categories of electrical products in the National Television and Computer Recycling Scheme (NTCRS) and the introduction of a single scheme administrator to oversee compliance and community education.

ANZRP is supportive of many of the changes proposed by DCCEEW, however, we strongly believe that any model that the government puts forward should ensure a direct relationship with between brands and organisations such as ANZRP, to enable ongoing innovation and improvement in e-waste recycling.

ANZRP at the Product Stewardship Excellence Awards 2023
Pictured: Janet Leslie (Canon, ANZRP member), Warren Overton  (CEO, ANZRP), Carla Vasconi – (COO, ANZRP), Claudia Bels -(Deputy Chair, ANZRP) and James Hole (Apple, ANZRP member) Image: Product Stewardship Centre of Excellence